next up previous contents
Next: Two Percent of the Up: Multiplying_Australia's_Potential Previous: List_of_Participants

Adding to Australia

Chair: Professor Ian Sloan, University of New South Wales
Chair of National Committee for Mathematics.

Biographical note: Ian was educated in Mathematics and Physics at Melbourne, Adelaide and London, finishing with a PhD in Theoretical Physics. Since 1965 he has been in the School of Mathematics at the University of New South Wales. Nowadays, his research interests lie with the mathematics of solving problems in science and engineering, using computers. He was appointed to a Personal Chair in 1983, and was Head of School from 1986 to 1993. Ian collaborates with numerous research groups in Europe and the USA, and is on the editorial board of five international mathematics journals. He has been a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science since 1993 and occupies the Chair of the National Committee for Mathematics.


Ross Moore